Webinar : India and China Banking: Operational Realities & Credit Risk Trends – Nov 20, 5pm IST

Emerging Market Banking- India and China – Challenges and Performance

Date: Thursday November 20, 2014
Time: 6:30 am EST | 11:30 am GMT | 5:00 pm IST | 7:30 pm HKT
Duration: 60 minutes

Register here

Rising interest rates and depreciating exchange rates will create stress on the corporate balance sheets of banks and other financial institutions in emerging markets, according to the Bank for International Settlements. The financing patterns of the past few years could expose markets to further vulnerabilities going forward, as quantities and prices continue to adjust to shifts in monetary conditions, new regulations and the macroeconomic outlook.
Since mid-September, some market jitters have reappeared, as central banks in advanced economies have discussed eventually reversing quantitative easing. This shift in perceptions has resulted in an appreciation of the US dollar against a broad range of currencies, including an especially sharp depreciation in the case of some emerging market economies (EMEs).

In this webcast, our experts will focus on two emerging economic giants and the uncertainty for their bank’s ability to service its debts and obligations and how banks in India and China are responding to proposed liberalized regulations.

Participants will gain a better understanding of:

  • The trends towards liberalization- similarities and differences
  • Bank responses to changing regulation
  • Challenges and opportunities under new regulations
  • Impact of state ownership on strategy and operations
  • Anticipated operational changes under liberalized regulations
  • Comparison on Indian and Chinese bank credit risk and operating performance

Moderator:
Eric Kavanagh, The Bloor Group

Presenters:
Dr. Rajan Singenellore, Global Head of the Default Risk and Valuation Group, Bloomberg

Professor Moorad Choudhry, Dept of Mathematical Sciences, Brunel University

Dr. Michael C. S. Wong, Associate Professor of Finance, City University of Hong Kong; Chairman, CTRISKS Rating

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s